What I wished I had known before bringing my puppy home

wholesomeletters
4 min readJan 17, 2024

I wanted to have a puppy from the age of seven. Twenty one years later my wish came true. I have a new best friend. We have an age difference he is only 3.5 months old but still, our friendship is going strong. I am counting the days he will bring me my slippers and we will go on to our morning walks where I will get my coffee and he will pee somewhere outside my living room.

As exciting as it is I have to admit our first 2 weeks have been challenging. My days have been filled with emotions, surprises, ups and downs. And there are several things I wish I had known before my puppy entered into my life. For anyone who wants to learn from my mistakes, here’s what I learned.

But first here’s a picture of Leo and his famous side eye.

Brace Yourself, It’s Going to Be Hard

The first lesson is perhaps the most important, yet often underestimated: having a puppy is hard work. The sleepless nights, constant watch, and unexpected challenges can catch even the most prepared off guard. It’s essential to mentally prepare for the rollercoaster ride.

If you are in a part of your life where you have many other responsibilities to yourself or others around you, think twice about how much time you will have for your puppy.

--

--

wholesomeletters

This page is a sanctuary of positivity, wisdom, and heartfelt reflections. 💌